Hardware Finalists Announced

It’s the time of year to decide who will win the trophies by the best of the best in the NHL. Of course it’s desired to with the main one, Lord Stanley’s Cup, but these individual awards are nice too!

The winners will be announced on Thursday, June 14.

Martin Brodeur was nominated for the Hart Memorial Trophy (given to the most valuable player to his team) and the Vezina Trophy (given to the most outstanding goaltender).

Jay Pandolfo was nominated for the Frank J. Selke Trophy (given to the most outstanding defensive forward).

A complete list of nominees is as follows:

Calder Memorial Trophy – outstanding rookie:
» Evgeni Malkin, Penguins
» Jordan Staal, Penguins
» Paul Stastny, Avalanche

Frank J. Selke Trophy – outstanding defensive forward:
» Rod Brind’Amour, Hurricanes
» Samuel Pahlsson, Ducks
» Jay Pandolfo, Devils.

Hart Memorial Trophy – most valuable player to his team:
» Martin Brodeur, Devils
» Sidney Crosby, Penguins
» Roberto Luongo, Canucks

Jack Adams Award – outstanding coach:
» Lindy Ruff, Sabres
» Michel Therrien, Penguins
» Alain Vigneault, Canucks

James Norris Memorial Trophy – outstanding defenseman:
» Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings
» Scott Niedermayer, Ducks
» Chris Pronger, Ducks

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct:
» Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings
» Joe Sakic, Avalanche
» Martin St. Louis, Lightning

Lester B. Pearson Award – most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA:
» Sidney Crosby, Penguins
» Vincent Lecavalier, Lightning
» Roberto Luongo, Canucks

Vezina Trophy – outstanding goaltender:
» Martin Brodeur, Devils
» Miikka Kiprusoff, Flames
» Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers
» Roberto Luongo, Canucks

Because of a tie for the third finalist of the Vezina Trophy, four nominees have been selected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *